2014 Cyclocross Series

 Cyclocross is warping up to full speed with the start of the BPost Bank Trofee Series last weekend. Here are the schedules for 2014 and a little background...


UCI World Cup - The most prestigious series in all of Cyclocross, the UCI World Cup has been run since 1993, with the Womens World Cup debuting in 2005. Ranging from a low of 6 events in it’s debut season, to a high of 11 (2004-07), the series has stabilized at approximately 8 events over the last few seasons. This year there are 7 events ranging from Valkenberg to Hoogerheide. The sands of Koksidje have hosted a World Cup for 10 years with Hoogerheide and Tabor close behind at 8 years each. Overall series wins are lead by Sven Nys with 6 titles, while Richard  Groenendall is in 2nd with 3 wins between 1997 and 2004. On the Women’s side Daphyny van den Brand has 3 titles while Hanka Kupfernagel and Katie Compton have two each. Here is the 2014 Schedule:




Super Prestige - Run since 1983, the Super Prestige is an 8 race series contested between October and February. Sven Nys holds the record for overall series “wins” with 13, and 56 individual race wins since his series debut in 1998. This year talented 19 year old phenom Mathieu VanDerPoel (BKCP-Powerplus) took an impressive win in the season opener at Gieten. For 2014 the schedule looks like:





BPost BankTrofee


Dating to 1987, and known as the Gazette van Antwerpen (or GvA Trofee) until 2011, the Bpost Bank Trofee is likely the third most prestigious series on the calendar. For 2014 it offers 8 races between October and February including the iconic Koppenberg Cross, GP Sven Nys, Azencross, and the leadoff event the GP Mario DeClerq. Originally a points series, it switched to a time based format in 2012. A quick review of the series champions shows that it trends towards an individual rider winning multiple years in a row. Sven Nys has 9 wins in the series, Paul Herygers claimed five consecutive in the mid 90’s. Guy Van Dijck, Arne Daelmans and Erwin Vervecken each have two trophies.




Next time we'll look at the teams competing!